History of the Fiqh Council

The Fiqh Council of North America traces its origins back to the Religious Affairs Committee of the then Muslim Students Association of the United States and Canada in the early 1960s. This Religious Affairs Committee evolved into the Fiqh Committee of the Islamic Society of North America (ISNA) after the founding of ISNA in 1980. As the needs of the Muslim community and the complexity of the issues they faced grew, the Fiqh Council was transformed into the Fiqh Council of North America in 1986.

The Council continues to be an affiliate of ISNA, advising and educating its members and officials on matters related to the application of ShariÌah in their individual and collective lives in the North American environment.

Executive Council
Dr. Muzammil Siddiqi, Chairman
Dr. Zainab Alwani, Vice Chairman
Dr. Zulfiqar Ali Shah, S.G./Executive Director
Dr. Mohamad A. El Sheikh
Dr. Jamal Badawi
Shaikh Abdur Rahman Khan
Dr. Muhammad Qatanani
Shaykh Mustafa Umar
Dr. Jasser Auda

Council Members
Shaikh Muhammad Nur Abdullah
Dr. Yasir Qadhi
Dr. Ossama Bahloul
Dr. Deina Abdelkader
Dr. Muneer Fareed
Imam Yahya Hendi
Imam Hassan Qazwini
Dr. Ali Solaiman Ali
Dr. Muddassir H. Siddiqui
Dr. Ihsan Bagby
Sh. Suhaib Webb